Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder – Winter Food in Japan

My previous posted restaurant, Uofuku, served a flounder. I look into its season. But, I find numerous kinds of flounder.Its season depends on its kind. At this article, I’d like to introduce « Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder » which is one of my favorite fishes.

Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder

Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder
Reference From: ぼうずコンニャクの市場魚貝類図鑑

Winter, November to March, is the season of Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder. Especially, February is at the highest season of a female fish with roes. It grows to 60 cm(23.5 inches). I cannot imagine by the above picture. Quite a big!

Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ) is composed of two words, Nameta and GareiGarei means a flounder. But, We usually call a flounder Karei. It’s Japanese grammar. Some words are transformed, when another words are added. But, we often ignore grammar. We call a slime flounder « Nameta Karei« . Japanese language is flexible. Nameta means a past tense of lick. Its slimy body looks as if it is licked. Another view says that it is so yummy which makes you lick a plate where a slime flounder is on.

Nameta Garei is a high class fish. It is called a king of flounders. Just one fillet costs 300 to 1,000yen. It depends on portion. Looking back my past, probably I’ve never eaten Nameta Garei at a restaurant. I wouldn’t go such a pricey restaurant. So, I cooked it by myself. Simmered one is best. However, at this time I cooked it meuniere.

Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder meuniere and Sauteed Broccolini

Nameta Garei(ナメタガレイ)/Slime Flounder meuniere
and Sauteed Broccolini

Laisser un commentaire

