Side Dish on Rice – Japan

Gyudon(Beef Bowl), Tendon(Tempra Bowl), Katsudon(Pork Bowl), Kaisendon(Seafood Bowl). We have various rice bowls in Japan. As you know, these are main dish on rice. We put side dish on rice as well.

The first one is Furikake. Salty and Crunchy. Kids love it. I highly recommend, even though it’s been very very long time for me to eat.

Raw egg. I learned it’s crazy for non-Japanese people worrying about food poisoning these days. Thanks to food management and logistic system, it’s safe and fresh in Japan. Once a month for me. Worth try.

Yamato Imo/Japanese Yam. Very Sticky. My most favorite food on this page. Once a month for me. Must-eat food.

Naga Imo/Chinese Yam. Sticky. Once a month for me. You should try either Yamato Imo or Naga Imo.

Natto. Sticky. Some people say bad smell. Notorious food. I wouldn’t recommend, although almost every breakfast for me.

Mekabu Seaweed. Sticky.  Once a month for me. I wouldn’t recommend. Same as Natto. You feel this food ruins your rice.

Mozuku Seaweed. Softer than Mekabu seaweed. Once a month for me. I wouldn’t recommend. Same as Mekabu.

The last one is Sakura Shrimp. Crunchy. The season is April and October. Worth try, if you come to Japan during the season.

7 réponses à “Side Dish on Rice – Japan

Laisser un commentaire

