Wa-daiko(和太鼓)/Japanese-style Drum Show from Niigata Shirone Giant Kites Battle(新潟白根大凧合戦), at Shinjuku, Dec 8, 2013

I left Kinokuniya Shinjuku South bookshop.
After then, I was on my way to Ocho(皇朝) which is a Chinese restaurant and
serves 500 yen lunch.

When I was down to the first floor at Shinjuku Takashimaya,
luckily I happened to see Wa-daiko(和太鼓)/Japanese-style Drum show.

They came from Niigata(新潟)
to promote their event, ‘Shirone-Odako-Gassen(白根大凧合戦)‘,
which is a battle festival of giant kites.

Here is a video.


(Video Credit: asiancycles)

According to the official site, this festival is held every early June.
To my surprise, it has about 300 years history.
It is said that the first this festival was held in 1737.

Someone flew a kite given by his tycoon.
The kite fell down to a house across the river.
The house was totally damaged,
so residents were upset and made a giant kite.
After the, they intentionally made their kite fall down to
the house where the first guy lived at.
That is what kicked this festival off.

I’d like to go and see this festival someday.

4 responses to “Wa-daiko(和太鼓)/Japanese-style Drum Show from Niigata Shirone Giant Kites Battle(新潟白根大凧合戦), at Shinjuku, Dec 8, 2013

  1. Pingback: Suriname, 17th day, upper Suriname river | Dear Kitty. Some blog·

  2. I can’t see the drumming festival. But that video of kite-flying.. 😀 😀 😀 … so fun to see! The kite fell into the ground. 😀 Nice!
    The last part – is that tug of war?

    • That’s too bad that you cannot see the drum video.
      Maybe this is because this video is 17 minutes long.
      As I measure the download speed on my PC, I sometimes see more than 20Mbps.
      I’m not sure what the last part is.
      At first, I think they pulled their kite out of the river.
      But, my thought seems wrong.
      After the rope was snapped, they shout with joy.
      Probably, you are correct. It maybe be a tug of war.

Leave a comment